Destination England

Our journey from debt to England…and everything in between!

The Gallery: The World We Live In – Glastonbury, Somerset UK

with one comment

I stumbled upon Sticky Fingers blog a few days ago, and saw The Gallery postings, and thought it a great idea.  For this topic, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to show my local area, or somewhere special to me.  In the end, I decided that I’d rather introduce you to a place that will always be a special place to myself and my family.  My wife and I held our handfasting there, and it is where we’ll be holding our son’s Saining.

Glastonbury

Glastonbury has held a special place for my wife, and she had wanted to share it with me when I came to see her.  I am more of a city dweller, and while I do enjoy getting out of the city from time to time, I always feel the need to go back.  So it was no surprise that Glastonbury was a bit of an adjustment for me.  The pace there is much slower, as I’m sure it is in most small village communities.  It took a day to really slow down to their pace.  Once I did, it was very relaxing.  It is an area rich with history and lore, such as the legend that King Arthur was originally buried in the Glastonbury Abbey.  Joseph of Arimathea is said to have brought the Holy Grail, and where, when he struck his staff in the ground it bloomed into the Glastonbury Thorn.  It is also stated that Glastonbury is at the center of several ley lines.

This horse is the Westbury White Horse.  While not in Glastonbury, it was seen on our train ride from London to Bristol.  I thought it was amazing!  Sadly, it is fairly modern though, crushing my hopes of seeing some ancient British formation.

This is a photo I took standing behind one of the chapels.   It is hard to tell, but the third sign back is allegedly the original resting place of King Arthur.  There has been debate to this, as some believe it was a ploy to attract patrons to the Abbey.

One of the fountains at Chalice Wells.  The well itself is further back, which is where Sarah and I held our private handfasting two years ago.  We’ll be going back there next month to hold Connor’s Saining with her family.  This place holds a very special place in our hearts, and kudos to the Trust as they keep this place looking beautiful!

The Mighty Tor just outside of Glastonbury.  Sarah has climbed to the top, but when I was there, my leg was bothering me and I didn’t attempt to make the climb.  We will definitely be climbing up this trip!

Overall, I definitely feel a connection with Glastonbury.  The history amazes me, and to walk through ruins that are a thousand years old I cannot begin to explain the sense of awe and amazement I felt.  Having said that, it was hard to adjust to the slow tempo.  Shops there close up around 5pm, and everyone seems to head for the pub!  As an American used to shops being open until 8pm or later, this took some getting used to.  Still, the surrounding countryside was gorgeous, and I felt recharged when we left.  I am looking forward to going back there!

Written by Jas

May 5, 2010 at 3:00 pm

Posted in England, Random, Travel, Vacation

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ah so nice to see you take part in this!

    imcountingufoz

    May 5, 2010 at 5:00 pm


Leave a Reply

